The people at ‘The Daily Maverick’ owe me for this blog:

The Daily Maverick‘ is a substantial and satisfying read. They have bold taglines that position them as mostly thorough and passionate journalists like, “Who says the news has to be boring?”, “The buck starts here” and “Knowledge. The final frontier.” I thought they had done away with the offensive, “An unashamedly elitist website”, but they have not. That does not appeal to me, it offends me.

Tagline in bold before the date

Tagline in bold before the date

Fortunately they vary those taglines and I do not have to be affronted by the offensive one with every article I click on. Apart from their misguided belief (or could this be an instance where they have not engaged in thorough and rigorous thought) that the information they are sharing should remain only with those who think they are superior, rather than with everyone – because everyone has a right to access knowledge, information and the truth, the journalism is generally exciting.

